Description : View of Luxembourg


Area: 2,586 sq. km. (999 sq. mi.).
Cities: Capital--Luxembourg City (pop. 83,800). Other cities--Esch-sur-Alzette (pop. 29,100), Differdange (pop. 20,100), Dudelange (pop. 18,000). (2007 figures from STATEC.)
Terrain: Continuation of Belgian Ardennes in the north, heavily forested and slightly mountainous; extension of French Lorraine plateau in the south, with open, rolling countryside.
Climate: Modified continental, rainy, with mild summers and moderate snowfall in winter.