Description : View of Sunshine Beach


Area: 7.7 million sq. km. (3 million sq. mi.)
Cities (2007): Capital--Canberra (pop. 340,000). Other cities--Sydney (4.3 million), Melbourne (3.8 million), Brisbane (1.9 million), Perth (1.6 million), Adelaide (1.2 million), Darwin (117,000), Hobart (207,484).
Terrain: Varied, but generally low-lying.
Climate: Relatively dry and subject to drought, ranging from temperate in the south to tropical in the far north.